

The Bill of Rights

The first 10 amendments of the Constitution of the United States make up the Bill of Rights. These amendments outline the basic freedoms that citizens of the United States are entitled to.

Amendment 1

Congress cannot make laws promoting or prohibiting religion or denying the right to freedom of speech, freedom of the press or the freedom of people to protest or petition the government peacefully.

Amendment 2

The right to bear arms should not be denied.

Amendment 3

Soldiers may not occupy a home without the consent of the owner.

Amendment 4

Citizens are protected against unreasonable searches and seizures. Warrants must be issued only upon probable cause.

Amendment 5

Individuals may not be tried for a crime until a Grand Jury finds probable cause and are not required to provide information regarding an offense. Private property may not be taken without the government paying for it.

Amendment 6

All citizens have the right to a speedy and public trial with an impartial jury in criminal cases. In addition, citizens must be provided with a lawyer and informed of all charges.

Amendment 7

A jury trial is allowed for a civil case with a value of more than \$20.

Amendment 8

The use of cruel and unusual punishment and excessive fines are prohibited.

Amendment 9

The Constitution may not be used to deny other basic human rights.

Amendment 10

States have the power to make laws in areas not covered by the Constitution.