GRADY COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

CALLED MEETING MINUTES

December 19, 2024, Meeting

The Grady County Board of Commissioners met on December 19, 2024, at 11:00 am for a called meeting to set the millage rate and approve the budget. Commissioners Keith Moye, Ray Prince, LaFaye Copeland, Phillip Drew, Interim County Administrator/Finance Director Holly Murkerson, and County Clerk John White were present. Mrs. Knight was absent from the meeting.

Mr. Moye asked Mr. White to open with prayer and the pledge to the flag.

Motion by Mrs. Copeland, second by Mr. Drew to approve the agenda as amended to include FA122-24, letter authorizing Tax Commissioner Jeff Worsham to take tax payments in the form of checks or debit cards. The motion was approved.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Michael Cook, 184 Carr St

Mr. Cook stated that the School Board stated they did not have any input in the letter. People feel they were lied to over the letter.

Buddy West, 147 Aldridge Rd

Mr. West spoke about Timber Taxes and things that need to be changed.

FORMAL ACTIONS

FA120-24 Motion by Mr. Drew, second by Mrs. Copeland to approve the Millage Rate of 13.138. The motion was approved.

FA121-24 Motion by Mr. Drew, second by Mr. Prince to approve the resolution to adopt the budget for 2025. The motion was approved.

FA122-24 Motion by Mrs. Copeland, second by Mr. Prince to approve the letter allowing Tax Commissioner, Jeff Worsham, to accept checks and debit cards for tax payments. The motion was approved.

RESOLUTIONS, PROCLAMATIONS, AND AGREEMENTS

Called Board of Commissioners Meeting Agenda December 19, 2024, 11:00 AM

- I. Executive Duties
- A. Call to Order –11:00 AM
- B. Invocation/Pledge
- C. Adoption of Agenda
- D. Public Comments
- II. Formal Actions

FA120-24 Approve/Disapprove Millage Rate of 13.138.

FA121-24 Approve/Disapprove the resolution to adopt the 2025 budget.

III. Adjournment

Individuals with disabilities who require certain accommodations to allow them to observe and/or participate in this meeting, or who have questions regarding the accessibility of the meeting, or the facilities are required to contact the ADA Coordinator at 229-377-1512 promptly to allow the County to make reasonable accommodations for those persons.

The motion to adjourn was made by Mr. Drew and second by Mrs. Copeland. The motion was approved.

		_
	Keith Moye, CHAIR	

JUNE KNIGHT, VICE-CHAIR
RAY PRINCE, COMMISSIONER
Phillip Drew, COMMISSIONER
LAFAYE COPELAND, COMMISSIONER