

## JAMES WATT INTERNATIONAL MEDAL RECIPIENTS

1937

Great Britain: Sir John Aspinall, nominated by

The Institution of Mechanical

Engineers.

1939

Mr Henry Ford, nominated by the USA:

American Society of Mechanical

Engineers.

1941

Switzerland and Professor A Stodola, nominated by Czechoslovakia: the Swiss Society of Engineers and

> Architects, Czechoslovakia Society of Engineers, and the Engineering

Institute of Canada.

1943

**Great Dominion** Mr A G M Michell, nominated by Overseas: the Institution of Engineers,

Australia, South African Institute of Engineers and the Engineering

Institute of Canada.

1945

Great Britain: Dr F W Lanchester, nominated by

The Institution of Mechanical

Engineers.

1947

USA: Professor Stephen Timoshenko,

nominated by the Swiss Society of

Mechanical Engineers and

Architects.

1949

Sweden: Dr Frederik Ljungstrom,

nominated by the Swedish Society

of Engineers.

1951

Denmark: Dr H H Blache, nominated by the

Danish Society of Engineers.

1953

Great Britain: Sir Harry Ricardo, nominated by

The Institution of Mechanical

Engineers.

1955

USA: Dr Igor Ivan Sikorsky, nominated

by the American Society of

Engineers.

1957

Professor Walther Bauersfeld, Germany:

nominated by the Verein Deutscher Ingenieure.

1959

**British** Sir Claude Gibb, nominated by the

Commonwealth: Institution of Engineers, Australia, and supported by The Institution

of Mechanical Engineers.

1961

USA: Professor Dr Theodore von

Kármán, sponsored by the American Society of Engineers.

1963

Great Britain: Sir William Stanier, nominated by

The Institution of Mechanical

Engineers.

1965

Great Britain: Professor Sir Geoffrey Taylor,

nominated by The Institution of

Mechanical Engineers.

1967

USSR: Academician Ivan Ivanovitch

> Artobolevskii, nominated by the Academy of Sciences of the

USSR.

1969

Dr Hideo Shima, nominated by Japan:

the Japan Society of Mechanical

Engineers.

1971

Dr Robert Rowe Gilruth. USA:

nominated by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

1973

Great Britain: The Rt Hon the Lord Hinton of

> Bankside, nominated by the Swiss Society of Engineers and

Architects.

1975

Germany: Professor Dr-Ing Siegfried

Meurer, nominated by the Verein

Deutscher Ingenieure.

1977

Great Britain: Air Commodore Sir Frank

> Whittle, nominated by the New Zealand Institution of Engineers.

1979

USA: Raymond L Heacock, nominated

> by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

1981

Professor Jacob P Den Hartog, USA:

nominated by The Institution of

Mechanical Engineers.

1983

Great Britain: Sir Christopher Cockerell.

nominated by The Institution of

Mechanical Engineers.

1985

1987

Great Britain: Sir Hugh Ford, nominated by The

Institution of Mechanical

Engineers.

Great Britain:

Sir Denis Rooke, nominated by

The Institution of Mechanical

Engineers.

1989

USA: John E Steiner, nominated by

The Fellowship of Engineering.

1991

Soichiro Honda, nominated by Japan:

The Japan Society of Mechanical

Engineers.

1993

France: Frédéric J P d'Allest, nominated

> by the Comité des Applications Académie des Sciences, France.

1995

Eiji Toyoda, nominated by the Japan:

Japan Society of Mechanical

Engineers.

1997

Great Britain: Sydney Gillibrand, nominated by

The Institution of Mechanical

Engineers.

1999 Professor Sir Bernard Crossland,

Great Britain: nominated by The Institution of

Engineers of Ireland.

2001

Great Britain: Professor Duncan Dowson,

nominated by The Institution of

Mechanical Engineers.

2003

Great Britain: Sir Ralph Robins, nominated by

The Institution of Mechanical

Engineers.

2005

USA: Leroy 'Skip' Fletcher, nominated

by The American Society of

Mechanical Engineers.

2008

Great Britain Professor Emeritus John Spence,

nominated by The Institution of

Mechanical Engineers

2010

Great Britain: Professor Roger Morgan Goodall,

nominated by The Institution of

Mechanical Engineers

2012

Great Britain: The Honourable Sir Sze-yuen

Chung, nominated by The

Institution of Mechanical Engineers

2014 Professor Richard Parry-Jones CBE

Great Britain: BSc FREng FIMechE FRSS,

nominated by The Institution of

Mechanical Engineer

2016

Great Britain: Professor Dame Ann Dowling OM

DBE FRENG FRS CENG CPhys Hon FIMechE FRAeS FIOA FInstP FIMA, nominated by The Institution of

Mechanical Engineers

c/o ASK House, IMechE Prizes and Awards Department, Northgate Avenue, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, IP32 6BB

Tel: +44 (0) 1284 717887, Fax: +44 (0) 1284 717889

E-mail: awards@imeche.org Web: http://www.imeche.org/awards

Registered charity number 206882